adamnoob.blogg.se

Macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data
Macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data












  1. #Macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data install#
  2. #Macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data mod#
  3. #Macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data drivers#
  4. #Macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data pro#
  5. #Macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data free#

Much like the original MacBook Air external DVD burner, this needs TWO USB ports in order to power the drive, but it is quite slim and can easily be put in my laptop bag for the one time a year I’ll need it.

#Macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data free#

They also include a free USB 2.0 enclosure that you can put your MacBook’s old optical drive in, essentially converting into an external DVD/CD burner. Included in the kit is the hard drive bracket that will hold your new (or old) hard drive and replace the optical drive mechanism. You can opt to also buy hard drives drives (both regular and SSD) directly from MCE as well, but I found a good deal on an SSD so I just went with the kit. I opted for the MCE OptiBay Hard Drive kit which for $99 is a pretty good deal. But since my MacBook was not my main “media hub Mac” where I sync my media to iPhones/iPad, I knew any ripping I was going to do wasn’t going to be on the MacBook. I have 3 other Macs at home as well as a couple at work, so I wasn’t all that worried about being stuck without a DVD drive (and actually, as I found out, you get to keep your DVD drive as well, but more on that in a bit). A blast of spray air fixed it, but it occurred to me that it had been well over a year since I used the drive.

#Macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data pro#

I realized recently how infrequently I burned or read CDs or DVDs on my MacBook Pro when I went to burn one and got an error message telling me my laser was out of whack. This will allow your computer to boot faster and launch apps quickly without wasting the precious SSD drive space with files that don’t benefit from the speed boost. Doing this allows you to keep your OS and applications on the faster SSD drive, and all your media and files and such on the slower “regular” drive. This unfortunately means you’ll lose your DVD drive (sort of).

macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data

#Macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data install#

Actually, most people move their stock SATA drive into the optical drive slot, and install the SSD into the traditional hard drive bay to ease with any boot problems, thus giving them TWO hard drives.

#Macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data mod#

I did quite a bit of research into the SSD upgrade before undertaking it, and by far the mod of choice amongst the geeks on the interweb is to completely remove your MacBook’s optical drive (your CD/DVD drive) and replace it with an SSD. Included: TOP LEFT: MCE optical drive sled, TOP RIGHT: external USB DVD enclosure for your old optical drive, MIDDLE: included screwdriver, BOTTOM LEFT: CD of installation instructions BOTTOM RIGHT: SSD drive (not necessarily included) Yet as time wore on, I was feeling that speed less and less, and thought perhaps upgrading to an SSD might be just the thing to rekindle my romance with my MBP. Since I rarely travel, I was willing to sacrifice a bit of battery life for the faster speeds. Aside from maxing out the RAM the only other modification I had made was replacing the stock 80 GB (I think) 5200 rpm drive with a 7200 rpm 500 GB SATA. My system is a late 2008 MacBook Pro (5,1) 2.4 GHz Core 2 Duo, with 4 GB of RAM.

macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data

With the right tools, I would rate this a 5 or 6 on a scale of 1-10 difficulty, but I didn’t really have the right tools, so I would bump it to a 6 or 7 for me.

#Macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data drivers#

Now while Apple might be rolling out SSD’s in all its new gear, what if you don’t have the money for a new system? Can adding an SSD to an older Mac make enough of a performance difference to justify pouring money into your old Mac, versus saving towards a new one? Odds are it depends on the age and condition of your system, but here’s my experience.įirst, some background on my tech abilities – I am by no means an Apple Genius Bar tech, but I DO have a set of small computer screw drivers and have opened up Mac Pros, MacBooks, and Mac Minis to replace things like hard drives, AirPort Cards and RAM before, so I’m not scared to get in there (although I don’t want to go back into a mini if I can help it). In fact, really their only main drawback (for most users) at this point is their price, as $200 only gets you around a 128 GB SSD drive these days, where you can get a (2TB or larger) regular drive for that price. SSD drives boast a number of benefits over traditional hard drives, such as increased speed, low heat, low power consumption, and durability in cases of accidental droppage (do to their lack of moving parts).

macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data

SSD’s (Solid State Drives) are all the rage these days, and if the MacBook Air is any indication, Apple has plans to include them in most of, if not all of, their future computers. MCE's sled replaces your built-in optical drive with either a regular 2.5 inch Sata or an SSD














Macbook pro 2011 hard drive caddy to transfer data